I was just surfing around the internet today and I came across a photo essay from Time Magazine. It was entitled Men of War. As I just grazed through it I found it interesting and decided that I wanted to write about it. It took me from World War I all the way up to the War in Iraq and covered every American war that has taken place in between. Without using words, aside from the description of where and when the picture took place, I felt like it told a story of American soldiers. Every one of them had the same glazed over, stern expression as the person 50 years before them did. It’s interesting to see now because I feel like I know these men, even the ones from wars I have not lived through, just by seeing their picture and imagining what they were going through and what was going through their heads. They were probably thinking the same thing that many soldiers are thinking right this second over in Iraq.

I have never made a photo essay or even seen one for that matter. I think in the future I would like to make one for something, I don’t know what yet, but it is a really affective way of getting a strong point across without saying much. The website had a few other photo essays, I also found the one on The Crash of ’29 to be really moving as well.

If anyone wants to check it out this is the website: http://www.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,1682713_1483727,00.html?cnn=yes